Real Men Don’t Post on Facebook

19 Jul

Think about the men in your life whom you most admire. Really. Do it now.  They are self-assured, confident, self-made men. They, no doubt, have a sense of adventure. They may hunt or fish, climb mountains, workout, or they are very successful in business or in their families.  They perform manly acts like doing unto others as they would have done to them.  They talk less than they think.  They are real men.

Now, ask yourself this question.  “Do they post updates on Facebook.”. No. They do not. If they did here is what they would post:

It is none of your business where I am right now.

I do not take pictures of the food I eat in order to impress you with a post.

I do not care to repost anything you post in order to prove I am a Christian, love my wife, child, or dog

I do not use my IPhone for a flashlight. I have a flashlight.

I won’t be at Promise Keepers.  I will be home keeping my promises.

I can not post that I am having a great time with my friends or family because I am having a great time with my friends and family and do not want to tarnish it by having my face glued to an IPhone.

I feel great about myself and do not need you to comment, friend me, or continue to pretend that you have a clue about who I really am.
I have no need to impress you with photos of my really cool vacation.
Let your wife do the posting. Get busy being a man.

These are the posts a real man might post if he were to post on Facebook. Men, get off of Facebook. Quit beIng a little boy who needs reinforcement constantly, constant feedback, and attention.  Keep Your Testicles, dude!  Man up.  Go do something that makes you more of a man than a boy.

Keep Your Testicles!

G.W. Mclintock

5 Responses to “Real Men Don’t Post on Facebook”

  1. G.W. Mclintock July 20, 2012 at 2:26 am #

    We got over a dozen emails about this post yesterday. By and large the men all agreed with the post, but a handful said it was a bit strong. “Do you mean to say that all men on Facebook are not real men?”. Absolutely not. The main idea is that intact men do not have a need to boast, seek approval, or cry out for attention. Men, get a cigar, grab a beer, sit around a fire with other men and tell the stories of the dragons you have slain. Keep your testicles!

    G.W. Mclintock

  2. nancy July 20, 2012 at 5:23 am #

    I like it. You are so right, and the several men I know who either have avoided FB or have quit and deleted their accounts fit the description. Thank you, I like real men, grew up in a family of real men, and and am seeing less of their type as years go by. Thank you.

  3. Matlock July 21, 2012 at 7:40 am #

    I couldn’t agree more. I took the “plunge” and left facebook more than a year ago, and with it, the “celebrity’dom” that so readily infects and reduces the men who become glued to it — posting what they think others want to hear, posting pictures for others to “delight in” — and who knows what goes on behind the scenes as they seek out other’s posts/pictures? I am guessing it is likely something along the lines of lust or jealousy or coveting. I know, I’ve been there. Aren’t we better than that, men? Don’t you remember what it felt like the first time you posted a picture (of yourself), wrote a comment (about yourself), tried to respond to someone’s post (to draw attention or a quick laugh, to yourself). Didn’t you feel a little embarrassed? Self absorbed? Where did that humility go? Here’s an idea, wherever your testicles may have drifted off to, I’m guessing your humility is alongside them, go get it back! And while we’re on the subject, what about your i-phone? Has it replaced facebook, for you? Everywhere you look there are grown men entranced with their i-phone, at restaurants, walking down the street, driving, at home, but the man is not really present in any of those places. Why are we so insecure with idle time and being still? Can’t a man look outward, instead of downward, today? Have a smart phone? Consider buying a dumb phone, it might be the smartest thing you do.

  4. dan July 21, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    So posting to a blog is still within the realm of masculinity?

    • G.W. Mclintock July 22, 2012 at 1:25 am #

      Dan, that depends. If we are looking for approval and our ego by posting anywhere, we need to check ourselves. The reason the four of us who write this blog remain anonymous is to help us curtail, if possible the inevitability of using this blog to gain attention and approval.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

